Artist“It must be clear to those who accept Revelation, and in particular the Gospel, that it is better to exist than not to exist. And because of this, in the realm of the Gospel, there is no space for nirvana, apathy, or resignation. Instead, there is a great challenge to perfect creation—be it oneself, be it the world.” Pope John Paul II, Crossing the Threshold of Hope, (Knopf, 1994)

“May the Heart of Jesus set mine on fire and maintain and increase in me his own spirit. ..With God’s help I have been able to examine the state of my soul. Alas! How far removed I still am from the perfection required by my obligations and by the graces which the Lord continues to bestow on me! But I still most keenly and fervently desire to attain it.

I see that I have now formed the habit of constant union with God ‘in thought, word and deed’, of bearing in mind the twofold prayer: ‘thy kingdom come, thy will be done’, and of seeing everything in relation to these two ideals. But how unsatisfactory are my daily actions and my religious practices! Ah well, I will start again and do better.” Pope John XXIII, Journal of a Soul (McGraw-Hill, 1965)

