Clouds-KeepRight7“I, the Lord, have called you to serve the cause of right; I have taken you by the hand and formed you. I have appointed you as covenant of the people and light of the nations, to open the eyes from prison, and those who live in darkness from the dungeon.” Isaiah 42: 6

“Whatever may be the historical and prophetic periods within which Isaih’s vision is set, we can well say that his words are fully fulfilled in Christ, in the Word who is his own but also ‘of the Father who sent him’ (Jn 5:37); in his Gospel which renews, completes and vivifies the law; and in the Holy Spirit who is sent by virtue of Christ’s redemption through his cross and resurrection, thus fully what God had already announced through the prophets in the old covenant. With Christ and in the Holy Spirit there is a new covenant, of which the prophet Ezekiel had prophesied as the mouthpiece of God: ‘I will give you a new heart and a new spirit: I will take out of your flesh the heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to observe my ordinances…and you will be my people, and I will be your God'(Ez 36: 26-28).” Saint John Paul II, The Spirit – Giver of Life and Love, 1996

