StPeterStPaulOn June 29 the Church celebrated the Solemnity of Saints Peter and Paul.

“He fell down at Jesus’s knees, saying , ‘Depart from me for I am a sinful man, O Lord’   and Jesus said unto Peter: ‘Fear not, from hence forth though shall catch men.'” (Luke 5: 1-11)

“He has redeemed us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace…” 2 Tim 1:9

St. Paul’s declaration of justification by faith recognizes that God created and redeemed us without our help, but our ultimate salvation requires a response of faith, which includes obeying our Lords commands, the central one being to “love one another as you love yourself.”

“My life is already being poured away as a libation, and the time has come for me to be gone. I have fought the good fight to the end, I have run the race to the finish; I have kept the faith.” 2 Tim. 4: 6-8. 17-18

Artwork: Top: The Miraculous Draught of Fishes, Pieter Van Aelst (c. 1532) Bottom: St. Paul on the Road to Damascus (9th Century)

 

